Crocheted Grape Trivet

I remember that my mom made one of these crocheted grape trivets decades ago.  She made one out of a purple variegated thread, while mine is just a plain purple bedspread cotton.  I think my trivet might be a bit bigger, as well.  I don’t remember how many bottle caps she used in hers.

I found the pattern on the Internet a while back, at http://www.bestfreecrochet.com/2010/10/06/bottle-top-magic-crochet-grape-trivets/

Now that I’ve finished the grape trivet, I’m starting one in the shape of a pineapple.  I wasn’t totally happy with the back of the crocheted bottle caps, so I’ve modified the pattern somewhat.  I’ll probably end up using more crochet thread my way, but I’m happier with the way the back looks.  I’m also finding it a bit easier to center the bottle cap in the crocheted cover.  I don’t have a pattern for the pineapple trivet, but I think I can figure out a way to crochet the leaves once I’ve done the pineapple part.

It’s funny, I never dreamed I’d make one of these when my mom made hers.  I’m not sure what happened to it.  I’m guessing she chucked it when it started to come apart.  I know she used it for a lot of years.  I’m hoping this one will last for quite a while.

Google images also has one in the shape of an owl.  My oldest daughter loves owls, so I might end up doing one of those as well.  We’ll see.  I might get tired of making the bottle cap covers before I get to it.

 

About tiffsniffer

I am a high school teacher at an alternative education setting. I like to crochet, read, bake and play computer games.
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

